Unless specifically exempt, all employees subject to the provisions of the Idaho Minimum Wage Law must be paid at least $6.55 per hour. The minimum wage for tipped employees is currently $3.35 per hour. In 2002, the Idaho legislature extended coverage of the state minimum wage provisions to farm workers.
New employees under twenty years of age may be paid $4.25 per hour during their first ninety consecutive calendar days of employment with an employer. For information on additional exemptions to the minimum wage provisions, refer to the Guide to Idaho Labor Laws.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified employment lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact an attorney in your area from our directory to discuss your specific legal situation.