Skip to main content

Oregon Legal Resources

Overview of the Oregon Court System

The Oregon judicial system includes four courts: the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, circuit courts, and a tax court.

The circuit courts are Oregon's trial courts, with jurisdiction over a broad range of cases including civil, criminal, probate, traffic, and domestic relations matters.

The decisions that are reached in the circuit courts may be appealed to the Court of Appeals, which also handles appeals involving state administrative agency actions.

The tax court is a specialized trial court that had jurisdiction over cases involving state tax laws.

The Supreme Court, the state's top court, hears appeals from the Court of Appeals and the tax court. It also reviews cases of unusual legal significance.

In addition to these courts, Oregon has municipal courts and county courts, but their jurisdiction is outside the state court system.

Find Your Oregon Attorney

When faced with a legal issue, contacting an experienced attorney is always the right choice. At LawInfo you can search for a skilled, Lead Counsel Rated Oregon attorney by location and by practice area. 

Was this helpful?