Lawyers are ready to help during these stressful times. Schedule your consultation >
Free Online Legal Resources
The penalties for drunk driving in North Dakota vary depending on whether it is your first DUI or your fourth. Not only will the charge be different, you could spend up to a year and one day in jail if convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense.
Should you refuse to submit to a test of your breath, blood or urine, your driving privileges will be revoked for at least 180 days and as long as three years.
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in North Dakota, you will face the following penalties:
Additional penalties might include an SR-22 filing, which is required for high risk insurance, a driver’s license reinstatement fee of $100 and the possible seizure of your motor vehicle or impoundment of your motor vehicle’s license plates.
If you are convicted of DUI for a second time in seven years in North Dakota, you will face the following penalties:
Should you be convicted of a third DUI in seven years in North Dakota, you’ll face the following penalties:
A conviction for your fourth or subsequent DUI will result in the most severe penalties, including:
As you can see the penalties for DUI in North Dakota can be severe. That’s why it is important to understand how valuable the advice and guidance of an experienced attorney can be. By building a strong defense against the charges, you will have a better chance at a positive outcome.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.