When you or a loved one are facing criminal charges, your first response may be panic. Without knowing more about the criminal justice system, it can be hard to understand what the appropriate path is to take. Understanding the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony, for example, can go a long way in preparing you.
Connecticut has three different crime classifications, or levels, which depend on severity and seriousness of the criminal offense. The least severe classification in Connecticut is known as a violation. Violations usually only result in a fine. Some crimes are not designated under either misdemeanor or felony but still carry potential jail time.
Misdemeanors are divided by class (A-D) and some are unclassified.
Examples of Class A misdemeanors include:
The penalty for Class A misdemeanors is either a fine of $2,000 or up to a year of jail time.
Examples of Class B misdemeanors include:
The penalty for Class B misdemeanors is a fine of $1,000 or up to six months in jail.
Examples of Class C misdemeanors include:
The penalty for Class C misdemeanors is either a fine of $500 or up to three months of jail time.
Class D misdemeanors are not common, and this type of misdemeanor is the least serious of the category. Penalties may include up to $250 in fines and up to 30 days in jail. State statute defining the crime applies to unclassified misdemeanors.
Whether you intend to plead not guilty or guilty, it is a good idea to speak with a Connecticut criminal defense attorney before arraignment to avoid any additional legal issues. An attorney can protect your rights and may be able to negotiate a reduction in charges and penalties.
Felonies are divided into classifications (A through E) or left as unclassified. All felonies are punishable by at least one year in prison.
Subsequent felony convictions may result in harsher prison sentences for repeat offenders.
Connecticut law has harsh penalties for a charge of operating under the influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs, commonly also referred to as driving while impaired (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). Connecticut is also an “implied consent” state, which means by having a driver’s license you consent to submit to a chemical test to check for drugs, controlled substances (such as prescription drugs), or alcohol.
State law says that a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher in drivers older than 21 is illegal. The state has a zero-tolerance law for any drivers under the legal drinking age of 21.
Penalties for a DUI criminal case may include a driver’s license suspension or revocation, as well as the following based on the number of offenses on record within 10 years:
Recreational use and possession of marijuana is not legal, but possession of small amounts has been decriminalized. Medical marijuana, however, is permitted for authorized patients with certain medical conditions.
Anyone caught with less than one-half ounce of weed faces civil penalties. Possession of more than one-half ounce may result in a Class A misdemeanor charge, up to one year in jail, and a $2,000 fine on the first offense.
Have you been accused of a crime? Do you need to research criminal defense lawyers to find the right one for you? Only you can decide which criminal lawyer to hire. Keeping the following facts in mind while deciding on a law firm may help:
You need a strong advocate to protect your rights. Learning more about criminal law can help you understand the criminal charges you or your loved one are facing. Take the time to learn about the criminal justice system and put your criminal defense lawyer to work for you to minimize any unnecessary legal issues.
An arrest and conviction can change everything. Fines or time in jail are the immediate concern, but a conviction will also mean a criminal record that can make it harder to find a job and housing for years to come. If you are arrested or learn you are under investigation, the first thing you should do is contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. You can search LawInfo’s legal directory to find a local criminal defense attorney who can protect your rights and help you determine the best way to proceed with mounting a defense.