Skip to main content

Connecticut Legal Resources

Overview of the Connecticut Court System

Four types of courts make up the Connecticut judiciary system:

  • Probate Court
  • Superior Court
  • Appellate Court
  • Connecticut Supreme Court

Probate courts handle adoptions, estates of deceased people, guardianships, and the commitment of those who are mentally ill. They also occasionally deal with family law or civil matters that do not require a trial.

Most civil and criminal trials take place in the superior courts. They also handle housing disputes and family law issues like divorce. If someone wants to appeal a decision made in probate court, the superior court hears the appeal.

The appellate court is one step above the superior courts. The appellate courts review the decisions made in superior and probate courts. In some cases, they might find the lower court made the wrong decision, and reverse it.

The Supreme Court is the “court of last resort” in Connecticut, meaning it is the highest court in the state. It primarily handles appeals from the appellate courts. It is also in charge of administrative duties, such as bar admissions and discipline for lawyers, judicial oversight and court management.

Need Legal Advice?

Contacting an experienced attorney is always your best bet when faced with a legal issue. At LawInfo, you can search for a skilled Connecticut attorney by location and by practice area. Searching by practice area can help you find an attorney who is knowledgeable about your particular legal issue.

Was this helpful?