Skip to main content

Vermont Legal Resources

Overview of the Vermont Court System

The Vermont judiciary has one appellate court and a trial court with five divisions.

The appellate court is the Supreme Court, Vermont's court of last resort. The Supreme Court hears appeals from the trial courts and state agencies and also manages the entire state court system.

The trial court is called the superior court and is divided into five divisions: civil, criminal, environmental, family, and probate.

The civil division hears cases involving personal injury, contract disputes, foreclosures, and evictions.

The criminal division handles felony and misdemeanor cases and is also responsible for approving or denying search or arrest warrants.

The environmental division hears cases that involve state environmental law.

The family division handles divorces, child custody, child support, and other family-related matters.

The probate division handles adoptions, guardianships, and matters related to estates, trusts, and wills.

Vermont also has a judicial bureau, where police and other government agencies can bring charges for violations of ordinances, traffic laws, and environmental regulations.

Find an Attorney in Vermont

When faced with a legal issue, contacting an experienced attorney is always the best bet. At LawInfo you can search for a skilled, Lead Counsel Rated Vermont attorney by location and by practice area to find an attorney who can help you with your particular legal issue.

Was this helpful?