Skip to main content

New Hampshire Legal Resources

Overview of the New Hampshire Court System

The New Hampshire court system consists of three tiers: the Circuit Court, the Superior Court, and the Supreme Court.

The Circuit Court is the bottom tier and contains three divisions. The family division handles family matters including divorce, adoption, child support, and domestic violence petitions. The probate division has jurisdiction over wills, trusts, and estates, real-estate matters, and guardianships. The district division handles misdemeanors, small claims, and lesser civil matters.

Superior Court, the next tier, hears felony cases, civil cases where damage claims exceed $25,000, and misdemeanor appeals from the Circuit Court's district division.

The Supreme Court, the state's top court, hears appeals from trial courts and the state's administrative agencies. It also handles administrative matters for the court system.

Find a New Hampshire Attorney

When faced with a legal issue, contacting an experienced attorney is always the best bet. At LawInfo you can search for a skilled, Lead Counsel Rated New Hampshire attorney by location and by practice area. We have New Hampshire attorneys who dedicate their practice to specific areas of the law, so you will not only find an attorney, but an attorney who is knowledgeable to help you with your particular legal issue.

Was this helpful?