Iowa Legal Resources

Overview of the Iowa Court System

Iowa has three separate courts, each occupying a separate tier.

The bottom tier, the district courts, is where nearly all cases in the state begin. These courts handle civil, criminal, juvenile, and probate matters. Each of Iowa's 99 counties has a district court.

The middle tier is the Court of Appeals. This court hears appeals of decisions made in the district courts, either upholding or reversing them.

Decisions made by the Court of Appeals may be appealed to the Iowa Supreme Court, the top level of the judicial system. The Supreme Court is also responsible for general administration of the state's entire court system.

More Iowa Legal Resources

Iowa Attorneys and Lawyers

When faced with a legal issue, you should strongly consider talking with an attorney before making any decisions. At LawInfo you can search our directory for a skilled, Lead Counsel Rated Iowa attorney by location and by practice area, to ensure you find the lawyer who has the skills and knowledge you are looking for.

Was this helpful?