Skip to main content

Federal Firearm Laws

Full Video Transcript

Federal firearm laws protect an individual citizens’ right to bear arms and the public’s safety. The National Firearms Act requires all firearms to be registered. Federal law prohibits certain types of firearms, including machine guns and guns that are not detectable by airport security. Other types of guns are permitted provided their sale and ownership comply with applicable laws. The Gun Control Act requires that firearm dealers be licensed by the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) in order to sell guns. In order to be licensed, a firearms dealer must fill out the application, pay the fee and be fingerprinted. The federal government does not issue permits to carry guns – that responsibility is left to the state and local governments. Licensed firearms dealers must not only complete the application process to gain initial licensure but also must comply with ongoing requirements in order to maintain their licensed status. If you are interested in possessing a firearm or become a firearm dealer then it is important to review the ATF website for more information about applicable laws and responsibilities.

Was this helpful?

Additional Federal Criminal Law Videos

Federal Criminal Law Sub-categories