Skip to main content

Firearm License Requirements

Full Video Transcript

There are two types of firearm license requirements in the United States – the type imposed by the federal government and the type imposed by state governments. The federal government requires individuals or businesses who are involved in the manufacturing or selling of firearms to apply for a federal firearm license. In addition, each state has its own laws about eligibility to acquire a firearm license. For example, state laws may require that applicants be at least 18 years old, have no previous felony conviction, be mentally competent and complete certain training before a license will be issued. The licensing requirements are usually a bit different depending on the type of gun being purchased and whether or not it is intended to be used as a concealed weapon. Even though each state has its own laws, some states accept a firearm license issued in another state and do not require those people to go through the licensing process again.

Was this helpful?

Additional Second Amendment Gun Rights Videos