Lawyers are ready to help during these stressful times. Schedule your consultation >
Free Online Legal Resources
A workplace injury can be a traumatic experience for any worker. You might have injured your back in a Cleveland factory fall, or suffered painful ligament damage in a freak accident in you Dayton office. However it happened, it could lead to expensive medical treatment, a lengthy recovery time, and lost wages while you are away from work.
Ohio’s Workers’ Compensation rules regulate the insurance employers must obtain to cover workers’ compensation benefits, and explain the process a worker should follow to receive the money they deserve. They also make clear the important deadlines an employee needs to meet they make a claim.
Workers’ compensation exists to protect employees when they are the victim of an accident at work and injure themselves. It covers injuries and illnesses that a worker sustains during the course of their job, and compensation is paid without consideration of who was at fault for the injury (including the employee themselves).
Workers’ compensation benefits can cover:
If a worker’s injury is so severe that they are unable to return to their previous employment, workers may be able to claim payments to cover the cost of retraining in a different profession.
Workers’ compensation doesn’t cover situations when an employee was intoxicated or was deliberately putting themselves in danger.
Ohio employers must have workers’ compensation insurance to cover the payment of benefits if an employee is injured at work. They are legally required to post information about their insurance coverage in each of their workplaces and cannot require the employee to contribute to the insurance premiums.
Because workers’ compensation is established to cover any workplace injuries, a worker effectively gives up their right to directly sue their employer for damages in most situations.
If you are injured at work, you must inform your employer about the injury and the circumstances which caused it within 2 years of:
A decision on the claim will be made within 28 days. If your claim is accepted, compensation will be calculated based on the specific injury and your wage level.
A claim for workers’ compensation could be denied for a number of reasons, including if the insurer doubts that the injury was caused during the course of work. If a worker disagrees with the decision, they must appeal within 14 days. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney will be able to advise you on your appeal options and represent you during this process.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified workers’ compensation lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local workers’ compensation attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.