Petitions for divorce in Hawaii should be filed in Family Court in the circuit where the applicant lives. (Hawaii Statutes Chapter 580 Sections 1 and 41) In order to obtain a divorce in Hawaii, the applicant must have been domiciled and physically present in the state for at least 3 months prior to filing for divorce and for 6 months before a divorce decree is issued. (Hawaii Statutes Chapter 580 Section 1)
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified family lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact an attorney in your area from our directory to discuss your specific legal situation.