When Does An Employer Become Liable For Unemployment Taxes?

An employer becomes liable and must file quarterly wage reports and pay contributions if they fall under the following categories:

  1. NON­AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT­­The total payroll for any calendar quarter for New Mexico employment is $450 or more, or if there are one or more persons (part­time workers included) in employment in any part of the week in each of 20 weeks within a calendar year
  2. AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT­­The total payroll for any calendar quarter for New Mexico employment is $20,000 or more, or if there are ten or more persons (part­time workers included) in employment at any time in each of 20 weeks within a calendar year.
  3. DOMESTIC EMPLOYMENT­­The total payroll for any calendar quarter for New Mexico employment is $1000 or more.
  4. The employer acquires the business from another employer who was subject to the Act at the time of the acquisition.
  5. The employer is liable for the tax imposed under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act.

Speak to an Experienced Employment Law Attorney Today

This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified employment lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact an attorney in your area from our directory to discuss your specific legal situation.

Your Next Step:

Enter your location below to get connected with a qualified Employment Law attorney today.

Additional Employment Law Articles

Search LawInfo's Employment Law Resources