To become liable for the payment of Maine Unemployment Tax, you must meet certain criteria. You must pay Maine unemployment tax if you have acquired a business, are liable to pay federal unemployment tax, or:
- You are an employer that paid gross wages of $1,500 or more in a single calendar quarter, or employed one or more persons for some portion of a day in twenty different weeks in a calendar year.
- You are a domestic employer that paid $1,000 in wages for domestic employment in any single calendar quarter.
- You are a 501,(C),3 nonprofit employer that employed four or more persons in one day in twenty different weeks in a calendar year.
- You are an agricultural employer that paid gross wages of $20,000 in any single calendar quarter, or employed ten or more persons in one day in twenty different weeks in a calendar year.
Speak to an Experienced Employment Law Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified employment lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact an attorney in your area from our directory to discuss your specific legal situation.
Your Next Step:
Enter your location below to get connected with a qualified Employment Law attorney today.
Popular Attorney Searches: