Lawyers are ready to help during these stressful times. Schedule your consultation >
Free Online Legal Resources
Two Connecticut statutes deal with defining DUI, implied and administrative per se action. CGS 14-227a prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs and have an elevated blood alcohol content. If a driver’s ability to drive is affected, then that person is said to be under the influence.
A driver gives their implied consent to be tested for alcohol or drugs when they drives, according to Connecticut statute CGS 14-227b,. Administrative per se license suspension procedures have been established for those who have an elevated BAC or who refuse to a breath test.
There are different factors that can affect the minimum BAC level needed to be charged with drunk driving in Connecticut. For example, for drivers over the age of 21, the minimum BAC to be charged with a DUI is .08 percent. However, if someone over the age of 21 has a commercial driver’s license, the minimum BAC level to be charged with a DUI is .04 percent. For drivers who are under the age of 21, the minimum BAC to be charged with a DUI is .02 percent.
The penalties for a conviction of DUI in Connecticut are less severe than the penalties for subsequent convictions; however, that does not mean that someone facing this charge for the first time should take it any less seriously.
Here are the penalties for a first-time conviction for DUI in Connecticut:
The penalties for a second conviction of DUI are more severe and include:
For a third or subsequent conviction of DUI, the penalties are:
Connecticut law allows for the courts to impose other penalties. Some of these penalties might include:
A defendant is deemed to be a persistent DUI offender if he or she has a conviction for second-degree manslaughter or second-degree assault with a motor vehicle and has been convicted of either of those offenses, DUI or similar offense in another state or states in the past 10 years.
When someone is charged with his or her first DUI in Connecticut, he or she may apply to the court to participate in the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. The application is $100 and the evaluation fee is $100, which is nonrefundable. The defendant must also tell the court if he or she had been in the program in the last 10 years. Once the defendant is deemed eligible for the program, he or she will be placed in a state-licensed substance abuse treatment program or an alcohol intervention program.
Upon successful completion of the program, the defendant may ask the court to dismiss the charges. The defendant’s driver’s license suspension will remain in effect. This program is not available to those who have been in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in serious physical injury or if the defendant was operating a commercial vehicle.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.