Arizona DUI Laws: FAQ

Am I required to take a field sobriety test in Arizona?

No. These tests normally include the walk and turn, finger to nose, and the one-leg stand. There is no requirement to submit to any field sobriety test. Unfortunately, the officers are not required to advise you of these rights. This does not apply to a breath or blood test.

Am I required to take a breath, blood, or urine test when arrested for DUI in Arizona?

Yes. If the officer has a reasonable basis to suspect drugs or alcohol in your body, the officer has the legal right to require you to submit to a test or tests of the officer’s choice. This is called “implied consent.” If you refuse the test, you may be subjected to a blood draw based on a search warrant AND your license will be suspended for one year (called the admin per se suspension). 

What are the Penalties for a DUI conviction in Arizona?

First time DUI convictions carry the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 10 days in jail,
  • Fines (at least $250) as well as other court fees,
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Minimum 6 Months,
  • Mandatory DUI education class, and
  • Possibly community service.

A second DUI conviction, within seven years of the first, may carry a harsher penalty including:

  • At least 90 days in jail (30 of which must be served consecutively),
  • Fines (at least $500) as well as other court fees,
  • Mandatory 1 year suspended license,
  • Mandatory DUI education class,
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service, and
  • Ignition Interlock Device: Minimum 1 Year.

What are the penalties for Extreme DUI in Arizona? 

Extreme DUI convictions carry the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 30 days in jail,
  • Fines (at least $250) as well as other fees,
  • Mandatory DUI education class, and
  • Possibly community service.

If an Extreme DUI is your second DUI conviction, within 7 years of the first, the penalties include:

  • A minimum of 120 days in jail with the possibility of 60 days suspended,
  • Fines (at least $500) as well as other fees,
  • Mandatory DUI education class,
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service, and
  • Possibly a court ordered ignition interlock device.

What are the penalties for Aggravated DUI in Arizona?

If you are convicted of a class 4 felony as noted above, you will face:

  • A possible prison sentence (Normally, you will receive a grant of probation. However, if granted probation, the Court is required to incarcerate you in the State Prison for 4 months as a condition of probation),
  • Maximum $150,000 Fine,
  • You will have your license revoked for at least 3 years,
  • Possible Vehicle Forfeiture, and
  • Additional penalties within the court’s discretion.

If you are convicted of a class 6 felony you will also face:

  • The three­ year revocation of your driver’s license,
  • The same fine as above, and
  • The possibility of incarceration ranging from 4 months to 2 years.

Speak to an Experienced Drunk Driving Attorney Today

This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.

Your Next Step:

Enter your location below to get connected with a qualified Drunk Driving attorney today.

Additional Drunk Driving Articles